Connect with us


Infrastructure innovation awards conferred on Urban Planning professionals by REPL


Real estate and infrastructure consultants, Rudrabhishek Enterprises Pvt. Ltd. (REPL) on Sunday organised the second annual JP Bhargava award for the best urban planning thesis at India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi.

According to a press release, the event assumes greater importance because of the participation from Govt bodies, academics and public & private institutions such as, NCRB, TCPO, HUDCO, IIPA, DDA, MCD, IUT, NCR Cell – UP, NPC, SPA, JMI, Amity University, Ansal, YEIDA, MoUD and other Government bodies.

The press release said REPL confers this award to encourage the young urban planners by recognising their thesis. Entries were invited from all the AICTE approved institutes and ITPI offering Master’s degree or PG Diploma in Urban and/or Regional Planning. A jury, consisting of prominent planners evaluated the entire thesis on parameters like innovation, practicability, depth of analysis and conclusions.

Pradeep Misra (CMD-REPL) said, “This award is constituted in the memory of Late Jagdish Prasad Bhargava, a renowned urban planner who have served the country many years and his designed made remarkable changes in country’s infrastructure. Planning and managing the development of contemporary cities is one of the major societal challenges all over the world today. There is a tremendous scope for the urban planning professional and such completions will encourage the new talent to think innovative and ideate new”.

The finalists were Hemant Sharma of SPA – Delhi (Identification of future smart cities in a region’: A case study of state of Karnataka); Purva Saxena from SPA-Bhopal (low carbon mobility plan for the CBD: A case study of MP Nagar, Bhopal); and christy ann cheriyan of CEPT- Ahmedabad (assessment of transit transfer experience, case of Bangaluru.  Winner received cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh, while two other finalists were given Rs. 50,000/- each.


Prof. JH Ansari (Director, REPL), RP Kaushik (Advisor, YEIDA) and Meena Bhargava (GM, YEIDA) adjudged the prestigious competition and the audience selected the winners.